top of page

Therapists Often Just Don't Know

Just want to vent about my coaching clients' therapists advising them not to tell their child/ren about their donor conception story. Such therapists are clearly coming from detached personal opinion and haven't studied the issue. I wish professionals wouldn't do this, especially since being someone's therapist or doctor places them in a position of authority. That's like medical doctors giving lifestyle advice based on old wives' tales, which I've also experienced. My clients feel good about working with me because of my personal connection to the subject matter, for which I'm grateful. (Though I also study the issues and others' experiences so that I have a broader understanding than that derived solely from my personal experience.) I do my best to keep an open mind to people different from me so that I can keep learning, but I also keep up standards for rationality and empathy.

Join the blog elist!

Get emailed posts.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page